La Foule


Once again I see the city in delirious celebration
Suffocating under sun-drenched merriment
And amidst the music, I hear shouts and laughter
Which breaks out and bounces all around me
And lost among the people who jostle me
Dizzy and distressed, I keep still
When suddenly I turn away, he draws back,
And the crowd just throws me into his arms
Carried away by the crowd which drags us,
Carries us away,
Crushes us against one another
We form a single body
And the effortless stream pushes us,
chained to each other
And leaves us both
expansive, intoxicated, in ecstasy.
Dragged along by the crowd which dashes forward,
Dancing a mad farandole
Our two hands stay welded
And sometimes raised
Our two bodies, entwined, fly off
And we both fall back
expansive, intoxicated, in ecstasy.
And the joy radiating from his smile
Pierces me and bursts forth from my depths
But suddenly I cry out amidst the laughter
When the crowd starts to tear him from my arms
Carried away by the crowd which drags us,
Pulls us away,
Pulls us far from each other
I fight and I struggle
But the sound of his voice
Is muffled by the laughter of others
And I scream in pain with fury and rage
As I cry
Dragged along by the crowd which dashes forward,
Dancing a mad farandole
I am swept far away
I clench my fists, cursing the crowd that stole
The man it gave me
whom I’ll never find again

δεν θελει ουτε email ουτε τιποτα, απλα το σχολιο ασε αν θες

